This September 20 members of St Nicholas’ Church visited four of Liverpool City centre’s historic buildings as part of the annual and national Heritage Open Days programme when many buildings, not usually open to the public, open their doors. It was a great opportunity to learn about our local heritage, other faiths and communities and for fellowship amongst our members. Everyone said what a great time they had had and they’d learnt something about our local heritage.
Greek Orthodox Church, Toxteth
Built in 1870 by the famous builder Henry Sumner who was commissioned to build the church. It is a typical example of Byzantine architecture, having four domes. The church was dedicated to St. Nicholas, the Patron Saint to all seamen, as the money for the building was raised by Greek ship owners based in Liverpool.
Old Hebrew Congregation Synagogue, Prince’s Road
This Grade 1 listed Synagogue is a Victorian building constructed in the oriental style with Gothic, Romanesque and Byzantine features. It has been the home of the vibrant Liverpool Old Hebrew Congregation since 1874, whose members have made an important contribution to the lives of both the Liverpool Jewish community and the wider non-Jewish community of Liverpool. It has been described as one of the most beautiful Synagogues in Western Europe.
Gustaf Adolfs Kyrka (Scandinavian Church), Park Lane
Built in late 1870s to meet the pastoral needs of the Scandinavian seamen and the growing number of emigrants on their way to North America and other overseas destinations. In the guided tour of the church we learnt about the history if the Nordic community in Liverpool and its contribution to the culture of the city. We sampled some delicious home-made Scandinavian refreshments.
Williamson Tunnels, Paddington
The 19th Century philanthropist Joseph Williamson, also known as the ‘King of Edge Hill’ was the maker of the tunnels in the early 1800s. The many household articles found in the tunnels depict how local history can be understood.